Diagram of frog life cycle

It's a frog's life

Red-eyed tree frog Red-eyed tree frog

Diagram of frog life cycle Diagram of frog life cycle

In the diagram at right, the successive stages of the anuran (toad and frog) life cycle are shown. The light blue region shows the purely aquatic, larval stages, popularly known as tadpoles or pollywogs. The beige region indicates the terrestrial stages capable of breathing air and existing on land. Adult frogs and toads return to water to lay and fertilize eggs, which develop into larva. The stages shown are:

  1. Early larva ("tadpole"), lacking legs;
  2. Late-stage larva, hindlegs present;
  3. Transitional form with four legs and long tail (moves out of the water for the first time at this stage);
  4. Young adult with residual tail;
  5. Adult.

More >>

Online Biology Dictionary >>

Most shared on Macroevolution.net:

Human Origins: Are we hybrids?

On the Origins of New Forms of Life

Mammalian Hybrids

Cat-rabbit Hybrids: Fact or fiction?

Famous Biologists

Dog-cow Hybrids

Georges Cuvier: A Biography

Prothero: A Rebuttal

Branches of Biology

Dog-fox Hybrids